30-30 Day 11

When I looked in my closet this morning I was for the first time feeling a little doubtful about being locked into these 30 pieces.  But when the going gets tough, the tough get creative.  I never would have mixed this top with this skirt, but necessity is a great thing.  Turns out, I love this mix!

I bought this skirt last fall at Forever 21 after being inspired by the great brocade looks from the Fall 2010 Balmain show (see pic at bottom of post) – see some more pictures of it here.   I love that it’s a little bit rock and roll and a little Louis XIV.  Brocade has nice memories for me, since my first “sexy grown-up” dress was a blue and tan brocade mini sheath (I wish I had a picture of it!).  I felt like a million dollars in that dress.

The belt is from Nordstrom Rack, ’09

2 Comments

Filed under 30 for 30, Winter

2 responses to “30-30 Day 11

  1. The sweater is so cute. The outfit actually turned out great! Yay for creativity! I adore those little sketches you made on the side.
    Books and Looks

Leave a Reply

