30-30 Day 4.5 – 5

I went into H&M last month with the express intent of buying a birthday dress.  They had some nice options but I wasn’t sure.  My friend helped with opinions and we both decided we liked this bright red sweet heart one.  (Thanks Kim!)  I saved it all month – it was a little difficult – and finally got to wear it this weekend.

I cheated a little and wore it both to my birthday dinner party on Friday night and to church the next morning.  But nobody saw me twice so – no harm done.  It’s a pretty bright red dress, but with the cardigan I think it’s classy.  A middle aged lady wearing a beautiful red and black plaid taffeta shirt came over and said,

“Wow, I’m glad somebody else is wearing red!  I still hear my mom’s voice in my head saying, ‘Never wear red to church!’    But you wearing that dress makes me feel a lot better!”

I told her not to worry because I loved her shirt and that she looked great in it.

Isn’t it funny how we hear our mother’s voice and opinions well into our adulthood?  I can still think of things I mom has told me that stuck irrationally into my head.

7 Comments

Filed under 30 for 30, Winter

7 responses to “30-30 Day 4.5 – 5

  1. Can I just say 1 more time… I LOVE the drawings! It’s hard to get a decent picture of an outfit, but the drawings are SO cute and work really well to clarify. Super fun!

  2. K-dawg

    Joo look gohhhgeous!
    Need to take a better picture of you in the black and white dress, that one, while a nice photo of you does not do it justice, it’s kind of hard to see properly.
    Also: Whoa, sequin free for 6 days! Are you having withdrawals yet? 🙂

    • happinessinbites

      Considering I only packed 2 sequin shirts for this project, I will be sequin-free a bit more. Take a deep breath – it won’t last long 😉

  3. Pingback: 30-30 Day 12 « Closet Full of Happiness

  4. Pingback: 30-30 Day 14: Happy V-Day! « Closet Full of Happiness

  5. susan

    what irrational things your mother said stick in your mind? No that’s not right what things your mother said stuck in your mind irrationally?
    Love and kisses

    Your mother

    • happinessinbites

      Oh maybe like when I cut my hair short and you met me at the airport and the first thing out of your mouth wasn’t “hello,” but, “I thought you WANTED a boyfriend!” oh boy…..

Leave a Reply

